School term dates

Find school term dates for this year and the next school year.

The start of Autumn term 2022 is
Thursday 1 September 2022

2022

Term Dates
Autumn term 2022 Starts: Thursday 1 September
Half term: Monday 24 October to Friday 28 October
Ends: Friday 16 December

2023

Term Dates
Spring term 2023 Starts: Tuesday 3 January
Half term: Monday 13 February to Friday 17 February
Ends: Friday 31 March
Summer term 2023 Starts: Monday 17 April
Half term: Monday 29 May to Friday 2 June
Ends: Friday 21 July
Autumn term 2023 Starts: Friday 1 September
Half term: Monday 23 October to Friday 27 October
Ends: Friday 15 December

2024

Term Dates
Spring term 2024 Starts: Tuesday 2 January
Half term: Monday 12 February to Friday 16 February
Ends: Thursday 28 March
Summer term 2024 Starts: Monday 15 April
Half term: Monday 27 May to Friday 31 May
Ends: Tuesday 23 July

About school term dates

School term and holiday dates are usually set over 18 months in advance of the academic year. We liaise with neighbouring authorities, headteachers, union representatives and the Diocese to secure the best alignment of dates across the region.

Term dates are based on a school year of around 195 days, although individual schools can use five of these days for staff training inset days.

We are required to set school term and holiday dates for maintained and voluntary-controlled schools.

Term dates may not apply to academies, further education and sixth form colleges in West Sussex, or to schools in the independent sector. More information can be obtained on the individual college or school website.

Locally, school and teaching representative bodies consult each other about term dates before they are finalised.

Additional information

Term dates are only held for three years as part of our disposal policy. If you need any other dates please contact your child's school.

 
Last updated:
2 August 2022
Share this
Share this

Do you have any feedback about this page?

Help us improve this website

Let us know if this page was helpful so we can make improvements. Add a star rating and leave your feedback below to show how useful you found this page.

Rate this page:
Clear star rating...
  • West Sussex County Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.