School term dates

Find school term dates for this year and the next school year.

The start of half term is
Monday 28 October 2019

2019

Term Dates
Autumn term 2019 Starts: Monday 2 September
Half term: Monday 28 October to Friday 1 November
Ends: Friday 20 December

2020

Term Dates
Spring term 2020 Starts: Monday 6 January
Half term: Monday 17 February to Friday 21 February
Ends: Friday 3 April
Summer term 2020 Starts: Monday 20 April
Half term: Monday 25 May to Friday 29 May
Ends: Monday 20 July
Autumn term 2020 Starts: Thursday 3 September
Half term: Monday 26 October to Friday 30 October
Ends: Friday 18 December

2021

Term Dates
Spring term 2021 Starts: Monday 4 January
Half term: Monday 15 February to Friday 19 February
Ends: Thursday 1 April
Summer term 2021 Starts: Monday 19 April
Half term: Monday 31 May to Friday 4 June
Ends: Friday 23 July

About school term dates

School term and holiday dates are usually set over 18 months in advance of the academic year. We liaise with neighbouring authorities, headteachers, union representatives and the Diocese to secure the best alignment of dates across the region.

Term dates are based on a school year of around 195 days, although individual schools can use five of these days for staff training inset days.

We are required to set school term and holiday dates for maintained and voluntary-controlled schools.

Term dates may not apply to academies, further education and sixth form colleges in West Sussex, or to schools in the independent sector. More information can be obtained from the individual college or school websites.

Locally, term dates are consulted on through school and teaching representative bodies before being finalised.

Additional information

Term dates are only held for three years as part of our disposal policy. You can find past term dates in the supporting documents below. If you need any other dates contact your child's school.

 
Last updated:
7 October 2019
Share this
Share this

Do you have any feedback about this page?

Help us improve this website

Let us know if this page was helpful so we can make improvements. Add a star rating and leave your feedback below to show how useful you found this page.

Rate this page:
Clear star rating...
  • West Sussex County Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.

    This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.