Senior council members

Councillors in senior positions.

The Leader and Deputy Leader

The Leader has overall political control of the Council and appoints the other members of the Cabinet. The Deputy Leader assists the Leader with these duties. The Leader is elected for a 4-year term by the council at the first meeting following an election.

The Chairman and Vice-Chairman

The Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the County Council are appointed annually by the full council at a public meeting.

  • The Chairman of the County Council is Councillor Pieter Montyn who is the apolitical guardian of the interests of all members of the County Council and its processes, as well as being its principal non-political representative.
  • The Vice-Chairman is Councillor Elizabeth Sparkes who assists the Chairman.

Read more about the role of the Chairman (PDF, 72KB)

Cabinet members

These are senior members of the council who hold specific responsibilities for different policy areas. Each is a member of the Cabinet and has a portfolio of work for which they are responsible. Cabinet members are appointed by the Leader, and are:

Minority Political Group (or 'Opposition') Leaders and Deputy Leaders

Last updated:
25 March 2024
Share this
Share this

Do you have any feedback about this page?

Help us improve this website

Let us know if this page was helpful so we can make improvements. Add a star rating and leave your feedback below to show how useful you found this page.

Rate this page:
Clear star rating...
  • West Sussex County Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.