Fire service information, including recruitment, safety advice and training courses.

Be Trained by the Professionals

Details of the fire training courses we offer businesses.

1 Overview

Fire safety in the workplace is a legal requirement for employers, owners, landlords, occupiers, building managers, managing agents, or anyone else with control of business or non-domestic premises.

Remember, you are equally accountable and liable for site safety, including visitors, customers, staff and anyone who is lawfully allowed to be on your premises.

By playing this video YouTube may set cookies.

Using the expert knowledge of our Fire & Rescue Service trainers, who are all serving or retired operational firefighters, you will receive the very best in fire safety training - direct from the professionals.

Courses can be tailored to suit your business and are designed to complement the findings in your fire risk assessment. Running them on your premises also ensures that the training is specific to your workplace.

Courses are competitively priced and we also offer places on our regular open courses held at various locations throughout West Sussex.

View and download our latest fire and safety training booklet.

We can also provide:

  • fire safety advice to assist you in meeting the requirements of the Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005
  • a full fire extinguisher service including annual testing, supply and installation of new portable firefighting equipment and stock management in accordance with BS5306 part 8, for businesses and schools, supporting compliance with Fire Safety Regulations and your building fire risk assessment.

For more information, please contact us.

Related information

By playing this video YouTube may set cookies.
By playing this video YouTube may set cookies.

2 Courses at your premises

Professional face-to-face training courses delivered on-site, at your premises, by currently serving and retired fire service personnel. This training helps schools and businesses to meet compliance with fire safety risk assessments requirements and includes hands-on experience using extinguishers on live fire in a safe and controlled environment.

The following courses can be provided:

Fire safety awareness

Recommended for all employees as a minimum level of fire safety knowledge. This 1 hour session provides staff with a basic understanding of fire and the actions to take in the event of a fire, such as evacuation procedures and human behaviour in fire.

  • Duration: 1 hour (presentation only)
  • Maximum number of attendees: 20
  • Price per course: £385

Fire extinguisher

This 2 hour course is recommended for all staff and gives an overview of fire safety awareness as well as key information about the different types of firefighting equipment available and their uses. Informative and engaging, this session also provides attendees the opportunity to use the most common types of fire extinguishers on a live, controlled fire in a safe environment.

  • Duration: 2 hours (presentation and practical)
  • Maximum number of attendees: 15
  • Price per course: £485

Fire warden

This 3 hour course includes the foundational overview of general fire safety awareness as well as key information about the different types of firefighting equipment available.

The session then builds on this knowledge to provide fire wardens with a greater understanding of fire safety provisions, as well as their additional responsibilities before and in the event of a fire. It will also give attendees the opportunity to use portable firefighting equipment on a live, controlled fire in a safe environment.

  • Duration: 3 hours (presentation and practical)
  • Maximum number of attendees: 15
  • Price per course: £645

Evacuation/evacuation equipment

This course provides appointed members of staff with a greater understanding of the action to be taken in the event of a fire. This course can be tailored to your premises requirements and can include evacuation procedures, looking at your building construction and current fire protection and the practical use of any evacuation equipment, if present.

  • Duration: 1-2 hours, depending on requirements
  • Maximum number of delegates: 15
  • Price per course: from £485

Management of fire risk assessment

Aimed at assisting those whose responsibility it is to carry out fire risk assessments. It will cover all aspects of fire safety in a school environment and includes legislation that may assist you with compliance as well as your individual responsibilities.

As the enforcing authority, we are not able to conduct your fire risk assessment for you. This course will provide you with information and guidance on managing your fire risk assessment.

  • Duration: 3 hours
  • Maximum number of attendees: 15
  • Price per course: £645

Manual handling

This course covers all aspects of manual handling and responsibilities in the workplace. It includes the most common causes of injuries at work and covers the structure of the human skeleton and how to use lifting and carrying techniques safely.

  • Duration: 3 hours
  • Maximum number of attendees: 15
  • Price per course: £645

Booking information

Bookings can be made using our online form below, or by emailing frsct@westsussex.gov.uk.

Prices quoted are the cost per group and are correct as of April 2024.

Book your on-site training course (external link)

Other services

As well as the training courses outlined above, we offer:

3 Courses held at fire stations

Open to anyone, these professional face-to-face training courses are delivered at fire stations across the county by currently serving and retired fire service personnel.

This training helps schools, businesses and individuals to meet compliance with fire safety risk assessments requirements and includes hands-on experience using extinguishers on live fire in a safe and controlled environment.

The following courses are available to book:

Fire extinguisher

This 2 hour course is recommended for all staff and gives an overview of fire safety awareness as well as key information about the different types of firefighting equipment available and their uses. Informative and engaging. The session also provides attendees the opportunity to use the most common types of fire extinguishers on a live, controlled fire in a safe environment.

  • Date(s), time and location:
    • Tuesday 25 June 2024, 1.15pm to 3.15pm at Horsham Fire Station
    • Wednesday 18 September 2024, 1.15pm to 3.15pm at Arundel Fire Station
    • Thursday 7 November 2024, 1.15pm to 3.15pm at Crawley Fire Station.
  • Duration: 2 hours
  • Price per head: £90

Fire warden

This 3 hour course includes the foundational overview of general fire safety awareness as well as key information about the different types of firefighting equipment available. This session then builds on this knowledge to provide fire wardens with a greater understanding of fire safety provisions, as well as their additional responsibilities before and in the event of a fire.

It will also give attendees the opportunity to use portable firefighting equipment on a live, controlled fire in a safe environment.

  • Date(s), time and location:
    • Thursday 26 September 2024, 1.15pm to 4.15pm at Worthing Fire Station
    • Tuesday 8 October 2024, 1.15pm to 4.15pm at Horsham Fire Station.
  • Duration: 3 hours
  • Price per head: £145

Fire safety - Care

Aimed at fire wardens working within a care setting; this 3 hour course takes our standard fire warden training and applies it to residential care homes and other related settings using real-life case studies to understand their unique risks and potential hazards.

  • Date(s), time and location:
    • Tuesday 21 January 2025, 1.15pm to 4.15pm at Bognor Fire Station
  • Duration: 3 hours
  • Price per head: £145

Fire safety - Early Years

Aimed at fire wardens working within an early years setting; this 3 hour course takes our standard fire warden training and applies it to the Early Years and other related settings using real-life case studies to understand their unique risks and potential hazards.

  • Date(s), time and location:
    • Wednesday 16 October 2024, 1.15pm to 4.15pm at Horsham Fire Station
    • Tuesday 4 February 2025, 9.30am to 12.30pm at Worthing Fire Station
  • Duration: 3 hours
  • Price per head: £145

Fire safety - Schools

Aimed at fire wardens working within a school setting; this 3 hour course takes our standard fire warden training and applies it to schools and other education settings using real-life case studies to understand their unique risks and potential hazards.

  • Date(s), time and location:
    • Tuesday 25 June 2024, 9.30am to 12.30pm at Horsham Fire Station
    • Wednesday 18 September 2024, 9.30am to 12.30pm at Arundel Fire Station
    • Tuesday 8 October 2024, 9.30am to 12.30pm at Horsham Fire Station.
  • Duration: 3 hours
  • Price per head: £145

Management of fire risk assessment

Aimed at assisting those whose responsibility it is to carry out fire risk assessments. It will cover all aspects of fire safety in a school environment and includes legislation that may assist you with compliance as well as your individual responsibilities.

As the enforcing authority, we are not able to conduct your fire risk assessment for you. This course will provide you with information and guidance on managing your fire risk assessment.

  • Date(s), time and location:
    • Thursday 27 June 2024, 9.30am to 12.30pm at Worthing Fire Station
    • Thursday 10 October 2024, 9.30am to 12.30pm at Arundel Fire Station
    • Thursday 13 March 2025, 9.30am to 12.30pm at Horsham Fire Station
  • Duration: 3 hours
  • Price per head: £145

Booking information

Book your course (external link)

Other services

As well as the training courses outlined above, we offer:

4 Online courses

Online fire safety awareness

This course is recommended for all employees. It provides staff with a basic understanding of fire and the actions to take in the event of a fire, such as human behaviour in a fire.

  • Price per user: £18.50

Booking information

Book your course (external link)

5 Specialist training courses

These are the specialist training courses that are available:

Chartered Institution of Wastes Management (CIWM) - Fire prevention and mitigation at waste and resource management facilities

The course is designed to provide knowledge and understanding of fire prevention and mitigation at these complex process facilities. The course focuses on waste and resource management facilities receiving, processing and storing combustible waste materials, including:

  • household waste recycling centres
  • waste transfer station
  • material recover facilities
  • the storage and processing of waste materials, including wood, paper, plastic, tyres, metals, and end-of-life vehicles.

The training is for anyone with responsibilities for fire safety at waste and resource management facilities, including developing and implementing fire prevention and mitigation strategies:

  • managers
  • supervisors
  • advisors and consultants.

Refreshments are available throughout the day, along with a buffet lunch included. Please notify us at the time of booking of any dietary requirements.

Available dates to book

2024

  • Thursday 19 September

2025

  • Tuesday 28 January

Booking details

  • Location: Horsham Training Centre, Macfarlane Way, Broadbridge Heath, West Sussex, RH12 1YA.
  • How to book: Phone 033 022 24658 or email frsct@westsussex.gov.uk quoting ‘course title’ with your details.

Breathing apparatus training

For businesses that require their employees to wear breathing apparatus as part of their day-to-day activities, or as a member of onsite emergency teams. Using our experienced specialist instructors and facilities we create a training package to suit your precise needs. Competitively priced and using either your own or our equipment, we can cater for all of your breathing apparatus needs.

  • Duration: 1-14 days
  • Maximum number of delegates: 12

Confined space training

For businesses who require their employees to operate in confined spaces as defined by the Confined Space Regulations 1997. This course provides managers and supervisors with an overview of the legislation and the various safety procedures which need to be put in place when working in confined spaces.

  • Duration: Half-day or 1 day
  • Maximum number of delegates: 12

Crisis Management training

  • How prepared are you or your business to deal with a crisis?
  • Have you considered what steps to take should a flood occur?
  • Is your business prepared should an incident that restricts premises access for a long period?

Many of the risks and challenges to your organisation are not within your control, but you can control how well prepared you are, should they happen. This course aims to enhance your preparedness, risk and crisis management skills.

Delivered by knowledgeable subject matter experts, they will share their national joint private and public sector learning and experiences, for example, working with the Home Office, co-chairs of the Sussex Resilience Forums’ Learning and Development Group and Sussex Community Resilience Partnership.

The development of the Whole of Society Resilience (aligned to the Governments National Resilience Framework), as well as a range of major incidents including flooding across various locations in the UK, Grenfell fire recovery and Shoreham air crash. All of which aims to enhance your awareness and learning of crisis management.

During this course you will explore accountability and responsibility strategies to mitigate the impact of unforeseen situations, including:

  • risk
  • response
  • framework
  • communication
  • being equipped
  • rehearse
  • review.

You will have the opportunity to participate in an emergency scenario, in a safe learning environment. Based on a real emergency, your trainers will test your knowledge and understanding of all aspects of developing a resilient business.

This course aims to fuel you with awareness, considerations and actions associated with executing successful crisis management responses. The content of this course is fully aligned to national guidance relating to planning for civil emergencies.

2024/2025 course dates, location and capacity (all 9.30am to 4.00pm):

  • Thursday 12 September 2024 at Terminus Road, Chichester - maximum 15 spaces.
  • Thursday 17 October 2024 at Arundel Fire Station - maximum 15 spaces.
  • Thursday 5 December 2024 at Platinum House, Fire Training Centre, Horsham - maximum 15 spaces.
  • Thursday 27 February 2025 at Platinum House, Fire Training Centre, Horsham - maximum 12 spaces.

*Introductory offer £375 per person (normal rate £425).

Who should attend?

  • Anyone seeking to improve their understanding and development of competencies behind effective crisis management.
  • Aimed at all levels including those who aim to embrace crisis management considerations into their working practice such as finance, procurement, communications.
  • Those who want to step into the role of Crisis Management.

Booking details

Hoist training

This practical course, aimed at the care market, covers a range of operational aspects such as; how best to reduce the risk of injury, safe access and movement whilst operating equipment.

  • Duration: Half-day
  • Maximum number of attendees: 15

Safe working at heights training

We can put together a training package to suit your precise needs. This enables employers to comply fully with the Working at Height Regulations 2005.

  • Duration: Half-day or 1 day
  • Maximum number of delegates: 12

Water safety/swiftwater rescue training

For employees who work on or near water. We can create a training package to suit your precise needs, with training courses to DEFRA Levels 1-3.

  • Duration: Varies depending on the type of course.
  • Maximum number of delegates: 12

Booking information

Contact us for more information or to arrange a specialist training course

Other courses

As well as the specialist training courses outlined above, we offer:

6 Coming soon

In addition to a range of fire safety training, new market sector fire safety training is launching 2024/2025:

  • Transport/garages
  • Historic tourist attractions
  • Open air and stately homes
  • Hotels
  • Marine/boat yards
  • Museums/theatres
  • First aid at work
  • Emergency first aid at work

7 Customer testimonials

Below are some of the testimonials we have received from people who have attended our training courses.

"Thank you for all your professional help in providing the fire extinguishers for our shops, the technician was brilliant with his advice. With the professionalism of West Sussex Fire and Rescue Service we feel perfectly protected for any eventuality. Great service and advice" - South Downs Bikes

"We use West Sussex Fire and Rescue for fire extinguisher training and have always found the trainers to be both personable and extremely knowledgeable. The use of real-life examples really brings the course to life. Staff often comment on how much they have learnt that will positively impact not only their work, but their home environment too." - Ardingly College

"It was a well-placed and excellently delivered course. All attendees are now confident to tackle a fire." - West Chiltingon School

"The training was informative and thought-provoking, making you aware of how innocent behaviours and habits can in fact impart a great deal of risk." - Southern Piling Ltd

"West Sussex Fire & Rescue Service are always my first call for our fire marshal training needs. It’s reassuring to have real experts train my staff and I find their combination of real-world experience, expertise, competitive pricing and friendly manner hugely reassuring. I would recommend WSF&R training to anyone." - Mark Ellis, Blue Helix

"We use FRSCT for all our Fire awareness, Fire marshalls and extinguisher training. The trainer was very informative and knowledgeable in his field. I feel my staff always gain from his training sessions and I feel confident they will know what to do in the event of fire alarms sounding." - Warren Drive Care Home

"Working with fire and rescue was a great experience. The firefighters were absolutely brilliant - clearly very good at what they do! Practical as well as theoretical training kept it more engaging and the trainers were very good at engaging us and keeping our attention." - RSPCA, West Sussex

"Our Science teachers and technicians enjoyed refreshing their fire extinguisher skills – WSFRS delivered an engaging practical fire safety session." - Worth School

"I left feeling that I had learnt something, having operated a fire extinguisher for the first time ever. The trainer kept us focused and engaged throughout the course." - Switch Signs

"This course was great for all our staff members to feel comfortable and confident to be able to deal with different fires within our site. The course was well organised and we couldn't recommend the training highly enough." - Arena Sports Centre

"We really enjoyed our fire extinguisher training with FRSC. It was informative and well delivered. The booking process was really straight forward with very helpful staff who answered all of our questions and needs." - Cowdray Estate

8 Contact us

Share this

Do you have any feedback about this page?

Help us improve this website

Let us know if this page was helpful so we can make improvements. Add a star rating and leave your feedback below to show how useful you found this page.

Rate this page:
Clear star rating...
  • West Sussex County Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.

Last updated:
11 June 2024
Share this