Mobile sites - Selsey and The Witterings

Opening hours

The Selsey and The Witterings mobile recycling service operates on a fortnightly basis on a Thursday from 8.15am to 3.00pm. 

Forthcoming dates

  • Selsey - East Beach Car Park

    • Thursday 3 March 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 17 March 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 31 March 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 14 April 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 28 April 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 12 May 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 26 May 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 9 June 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 23 June 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 7 July 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 21 July 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 4 August 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 18 August 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 1 September 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 15 September 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 29 September 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 13 October 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 27 October 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 10 November 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 24 November 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 8 December 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
  • The Witterings - Marine Drive Car Park

    • Thursday 24 February 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 10 March 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 24 March 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 7 April 2022- 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 21 April 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 5 May 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 19 May 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 2 June 2022 - No service
    • Thursday 16 June 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 30 June 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 14 July 2022- 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 28 July 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 11 August 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 25 August 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 8 September 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 22 September 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 6 October 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 20 October 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 3 November 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 17 November 2022- 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 1 December 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm
    • Thursday 15 December 2022 - 8.15am-3.00pm

A to Z of recycling

Find out what items you can take to this centre, which bin they need to go in and what you can dispose of at home.

View the A to Z of recycling

Centre information

  • Proof of residency

    Anyone using a recycling centre is required to provide proof of residency in West Sussex. You will need to show one form of identification from the list below. No other form of identification will be accepted.

    • Current driving licence (photo card or paper licence) - preferred option
    • Council Tax bill - from the current financial year
    • Utility bill (gas, electric or water) - less than a year old
    • TV licence - less than a year old
    • Letter from HMRC or the Home Office - less than a year old
    • Current bus pass
    • Current disabled parking permit (Blue Badge)

    Access for disabled visitors

    If you have a disability issue and require assistance, please ask a member of staff when you arrive. They will take your items and transfer them to the correct recycling containers for you if required. 

  • Unpermitted vehicles

    The following vehicles are not permitted to use this recycling centre (RC):

    • multi-axle trailers
    • horseboxes
    • tipper trucks
    • flatbed or dropside trucks
    • Luton-type vans.

    West Sussex residents who wish to use vans, pickups, single-axle trailers or commercial vehicles to dispose of their household waste must obtain a permit before they can use this centre.

    All vehicles over 2.2 metres high must use:

    • Burgess Hill RC
    • Chichester RC
    • Worthing RC.

    Vehicles have a gross vehicle weight restriction of 3.5 tonnes at all centres.

  • Use of commercial vehicles

    You will need to obtain a permit to use the centre if you drive a commercial vehicle to dispose of your household waste.

    Apply online for a permit

    Businesses still need to use the waste transfer stations and pay to dispose of their business waste.

  • Household waste

    You can use the service to recycle:

    • green garden waste

    • wood

    • metal items, such as pots and pans

    • cardboard, paper and shredded paper

    • small electrical items, such as irons, toasters and hairdryers - no televisions or white goods can be accepted.

    A container will be available for non-recyclable material. This mobile recycling service does not accept soil and hardcore or hazardous materials.

    Further details on alternative arrangements for a green waste collection service and bulky waste collection service from Chichester District Council is available on their website.

    Business and commercial waste

    The mobile recycling services at Selsey and The Witterings are for household recyclables only. We will not accept any recyclables from commercial sources.

    Details of where you can dispose of commercial waste or recycling is available on our Business and commercial waste page.