What the different levels of a heatwave are and how to protect yourself and others from the extreme heat.

During the warmer months increased temperatures can be extremely dangerous. They can affect the young, elderly and seriously ill. We work with our partners to ensure that these vulnerable groups are adequately supported.

There are 4 stages to a heatwave as defined by the Heatwave Plan for England (GOV.UK):

  • Level 1 - Normal level, be aware of what to do in a heatwave.
  • Level 2 - A heatwave is likely in the next few days.
  • Level 3 - A heatwave is happening.
  • Level 4 - A severe heatwave is happening.

How you can protect yourself and others

  • Stay out of the heat and keep out of the sun between 11.00am and 3.00pm.
  • Cool yourself down and drink plenty of water.
  • Keep your environment cool and place a thermometer in your main living room and bedroom to keep a check on the temperature.
  • Look out for others, especially isolated, elderly, ill or very young people, and make sure they are able to keep cool.

Additional information

Last updated:
23 April 2019
Share this
Share this

Do you have any feedback about this page?

Help us improve this website

Let us know if this page was helpful so we can make improvements. Add a star rating and leave your feedback below to show how useful you found this page.

Rate this page:
Clear star rating...
  • West Sussex County Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.

    This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.