West Sussex County Council appointments


Release date: 16 May 2017

A series of appointments were confirmed today (Tuesday 16 May) after the first meeting of West Sussex County Council since the May 4 elections.

Louise Goldsmith (Chichester West) has been appointed as Leader for the next four years.

Lionel Barnard (Henfield) was confirmed as the Chairman. Roger Oakley (Worthing East) will be the new Vice-Chairman.

The Deputy Leader is Peter Catchpole (Holbrook), who will also serve as Cabinet Member for Adults and Health.

Other Cabinet appointments were:

• Stephen Hillier (Haywards Heath East) – Children and Young People
• Richard Burrett (Pound Hill) – Education
• Deborah Urquhart (Angmering and Findon) – Environment
• Jeremy Hunt (Chichester North) – Finance and Resources
• Bob Lanzer (Maidenbower and Worth) – Infrastructure and Highways
• Debbie Kennard (Shoreham North) – Safer, Stronger Communities

Committee Chairman appointments were:

• Michael Cloake (Worthing Pier) – Children and Young People’s Services Select
• Andrew Barrett-Miles (Burgess Hill North) – Environmental and Community Services Select
• Bryan Turner (Broadwater) – Health and Adult Social Care Select
• Pieter Montyn (The Witterings) – Performance and Finance Select
• Duncan Crow (Tilgate and Furnace Green) – Planning
• Derek Whittington (Fontwell) – Rights of Way
• Dr Nigel Dennis (Horsham Hurst) – Regulation, Audit and Accounts 
• Lionel Barnard (Henfield) – Governance
• Lionel Barnard (Henfield) – Standards

Share this

Do you have any feedback about this page?

Help us improve this website

Let us know how we're doing. We're constantly trying to improve this website. Your feedback is very important to us. You can simply add a star rating to indicate how useful you found this page. If you have more specific feedback use the form below.

Rate this page:
Clear star rating
  • West Sussex County Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.

Share this