Fire service honours staff at online awards ceremony

West Sussex Fire & Rescue Service Awards 2020

Release date: 23 October 2020

West Sussex Fire & Rescue Service has honoured its long serving members of staff and those that have gone above and beyond over the last year.

The awards event was held online this year due to COVID-19.

The ceremony celebrated those staff who achieved their 40 years’ service and 20 years’ service medals and certificates.

Twelve commendation awards were also presented including Team of the Year, Shining Star Award and Lifetime Achievement Award. For the first time the fire service also presented two new awards for exceptional service during COVID-19.

Chief Fire Officer, Sabrina Cohen-Hatton, said: “Due to COVID-19 we have had to hold the ceremony in a different way this year and to hold the event online. Nothing was going to stop us celebrating the achievements of staff – especially during a year in which so many have stepped up to find solutions to problems they could never have foreseen.

“Listening to the citations of each of the award recipients made me incredibly proud to think just how much each of these individuals has given to the service over the course of their many years’ service. I was very humbled to hear about the journeys that many of them have been on within the fire service to reach where they are today, and I was so pleased we were able to share this ceremony as one fire family together.”

The full list of award recipients are:

Long Service and Good Conduct Medal – 40 Years

Roy Barraclough - Worthing

Duncan Knight - Midhurst

Long Service and Good Conduct certificate – 40 Years

Sue Howkins

Long Service and Good Conduct Medal – 20 Years

Jason Pollock - Bognor

Steve Robinson - Worthing

Paul Trinick - Crawley

Paul Gilbert - Worthing

Richard Cruise – Business Fire Safety/retained at East Preston

Neal Temperley - Crawley/p>

Steve Philby – Littlehampton/ retained at Storrington Steve Philby

Gavin Twinn – Haywards Heath

Sean Embleton - Bognor Regis/p>

Paul Stepney - Horsham

Mark Hull – Bognor Regis

Neil Holland – East Grinstead

Neil Dorrell - Littlehampton

Richard Coomber – Operational Training Team

Rodney Gates - Operational Training Team

Andrew Mannering - Operational Training Team

Terry Tucknott - Crawley

Alfred Ancell - Worthing

Kevin Jephson - Littlehampton

Pete Sadler - Chichester

Justin Bomyer - Crawley

Ed Coulson - Horsham

Neill Hill – East Wittering

Long Service and Good Conduct certificate – 20 Years

David Baker

Career/Lifetime Achievement – Ivor Henley – Burgess Hill

Career/Lifetime Achievement – Samantha Evans - Littlehampton

Career/Lifetime Achievement – Steve Crockett - Worthing

Career/Lifetime Achievement – Andy Horner – Selsey

Career/Lifetime Achievement – Neil Stocker

Shining Star Award – Lucy Stout – Haywards Heath

Team of The Year – Operational Training Team

The Community/Parham House Award – The FC20 Project Team

Charity Champion – Debi Booker

Volunteer of the Year – Robin Dobbs

Exceptional Service COVID-19 Team Award – Workshops Maintenance Team

Exceptional Service COVID-19 Individual Award – Simon Boyling

Share this

Do you have any feedback about this page?

Help us improve this website

Let us know if this page was helpful so we can make improvements. Add a star rating and leave your feedback below to show how useful you found this page.

Rate this page:
Clear star rating...
  • West Sussex County Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.

Share this