11 locations to be given better roads overnight in August and September

Quieter and smoother road surfaces are being laid in roads around West Sussex

 
Last updated:
31 July 2015

Quieter and smoother road surfaces are being laid overnight at 11 locations in August and September.

West Sussex County Council is carrying out resurfacing work.

It will close the following roads at the following times:


•         Sunday, August 2 - Gatwick Road, Crawley (at the junction with Rutherford Way);
•         Monday, August 3 to Friday, August 7 – Richmond Way, Worthing (from Chapel Road to Crescent Road);
•         Monday, August 10 to Friday, August 14 – Market Square, New Street and East Street, Petworth;
•         Friday, August 21 to Tuesday, September 1 – Quarry Lane/Gravel Lane, Chichester;
•         Wednesday, September 2 – Parkside/Queensway, Crawley;
•         Thursday, September 3 to Friday, September 4 – Albert Drive, Burgess Hill;
•         Monday, September 7 to Tuesday, September 8 – Copthorne Common Road (from Snow Hill to the Surrey boundary), Copthorne;
•         Monday, September 7 to Thursday, September 10 – A273/Jane Murray Way/London Road roundabout, Burgess Hill;
•         Wednesday, September 9 to Friday, September 11 – North Road (from Culver Road to Crabtree Lane), Lancing;
•         Friday, September 11 – Upper Shoreham Road (from New Barn Road to Hammy Lane), Shoreham-By-Sea;
•         Monday, September 14 to Thursday, September 17 – High Street, Arundel.

All dates are subject to change because of weather.

Works will take place between 8pm and 6am.

Contractor Balfour Beatty will aim to finish the noisier works before 11pm.

Signed diversion routes will be in place for each location.

The County Council decides to repair roads overnight to avoid major disruption.

Typical reasons include:

•         It is a busy road during the day;
•         Businesses and public facilities are nearby;
•         Business parks or industrial estates are nearby;
•         Schools are nearby;
•         Parking issues;
•         It is in a town centre.

Share this

Do you have any feedback about this page?

Help us improve this website

Let us know how we're doing. We're constantly trying to improve this website. Your feedback is very important to us. You can simply add a star rating to indicate how useful you found this page. If you have more specific feedback use the form below.

Rate this page:
Clear star rating
  • West Sussex County Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.