School term dates 2021/22

Find the school term dates for academic year 2021/22.

The start of Autumn term 2021 is
Thursday 2 September 2021

2021

Term Dates
Autumn term 2021 Starts: Thursday 2 September
Half term: Monday 25 October to Friday 29 October
Ends: Friday 17 December

2022

Term Dates
Spring term 2022 Starts: Tuesday 4 January
Half term: Monday 21 February to Friday 25 February
Ends: Friday 8 April
Summer term 2022 Starts: Monday 25 April
Half term: Monday 30 May to Friday 3 June
Ends: Friday 22 July

About school term dates

School term and holiday dates are usually set over 18 months in advance of the academic year. We liaise with neighbouring authorities, headteachers, union representatives and the Diocese to secure the best alignment of dates across the region.

Term dates are based on a school year of around 195 days, although individual schools can use five of these days for staff training inset days.

We are required to set school term and holiday dates for maintained and voluntary-controlled schools.

Term dates may not apply to academies, further education and sixth form colleges in West Sussex, or to schools in the independent sector. More information can be obtained from the individual college or school websites.

Locally, term dates are consulted on through school and teaching representative bodies before being finalised.

Additional information

Term dates are only held for three years as part of our disposal policy. If you need any other dates contact your child's school.

 
Last updated:
11 June 2020
Share this
Share this

Do you have any feedback about this page?

Help us improve this website

Let us know if this page was helpful so we can make improvements. Add a star rating and leave your feedback below to show how useful you found this page.

Rate this page:
Clear star rating...
  • West Sussex County Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.